Private nonprofitFour-year

Berea College

Berea, KY · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$6,106
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$51,658
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
58.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,150
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$60,718
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$51,658
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$51,658
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,208
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,981
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$750
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0005,428
$30,001–48,0004,598
$48,001–75,0008,132
$75,001–110,0007,570
$110,001+13,700

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
58.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
62.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
79.2%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,676
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,150
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$3,591
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$38.07
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
67.6%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $43,150 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
19.3%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,249
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
23–28
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,513
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
40.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
83.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
7.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$22,742
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White42%
Hispanic18%
Black20%
Asian4%
Two or more races7%
Nonresident / international9%

Other Four-year institutions in KY

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Alice Lloyd CollegeNot reported38.9%$40,573
American National University-LouisvilleNot reported50.0%$28,188
Asbury Theological SeminaryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Asbury UniversityNot reported65.0%$42,368
Beckfield College-FlorenceNot reported31.7%$37,114
Bellarmine UniversityNot reported64.4%$62,069
Brescia UniversityNot reported53.7%$45,500
Campbellsville UniversityNot reported42.0%$41,583
Centre CollegeNot reported80.7%$66,240
Clear Creek Baptist Bible CollegeNot reported38.5%$41,623
Eastern Kentucky University$11,04050.0%$45,795
Frontier Nursing UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$82,491$92,374Not reported
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General.$55,830$80,526Not reported
Business/Commerce, General.$52,456$68,407Not reported
Communication and Media Studies.$41,723$56,359$5,801
Psychology, General.$40,768$50,706Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.$40,722$48,590Not reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General.$38,352$48,460Not reported
Education, General.$36,412$49,808Not reported
Biology, General.$32,729$57,214Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts.$29,013$41,367Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Applied Mathematics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reported$55,693Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$54,562Not reported
Philosophy.Not reported$54,455Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Political Science and Government.Not reported$63,293Not reported
Sociology.Not reported$52,657Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10