PublicFour-year

University of South Dakota

Vermillion, SD · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$19,858
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,432
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
59.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,926
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$24,422
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,432
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$12,942
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,356
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,870
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00014,921
$30,001–48,00015,942
$48,001–75,00018,540
$75,001–110,00021,202
$110,001+22,193

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
59.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
57.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
79.3%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,290
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,926
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$23,592
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$250.11
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
69.5%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $51,926 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
98.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,125
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–25
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
5,439
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
24.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
18.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
40.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$64,844
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White76%
Hispanic6%
Black4%
Asian2%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international7%

Other Four-year institutions in SD

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Augustana UniversityNot reported73.0%$59,217
Black Hills State University$15,91142.6%$46,674
California Intercontinental UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Dakota State University$21,05751.3%$50,970
Dakota Wesleyan UniversityNot reported48.3%$53,728
Kairos UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mount Marty UniversityNot reported52.4%$48,179
National American University-Rapid CityNot reported0.0%$37,325
Northern State University$15,81248.9%$47,618
Oglala Lakota College$1,8958.7%$22,517
Sinte Gleska University$12,76815.4%$20,948
Sisseton Wahpeton College$2,97720.6%$31,546

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Medicine.$126,911$112,460Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$123,612$127,347Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$109,366$103,485Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.$105,958$100,573Not reported
Public Administration.$87,275$81,408Not reported
Human Services, General.$86,703$57,050Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$85,964$95,833Not reported
Law.$83,195$107,773Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$74,816$58,716Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$73,025$88,910$28,644
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$72,528$81,641Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.$72,032$71,685Not reported
Economics.$71,463$82,686$20,819
Accounting and Related Services.$71,179$76,194$25,793
Finance and Financial Management Services.$70,100$83,343$24,320
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$70,000$82,893Not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.$68,556$68,061$27,000
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$64,890$68,257$22,950
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies.$64,104$50,983Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$64,069$58,928$25,000

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10