PublicFour-year

Dakota State University

Madison, SD · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$21,057
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,654
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
51.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,970
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$25,753
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,654
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$12,756
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$9,742
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,599
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00017,317
$30,001–48,00018,792
$48,001–75,00019,165
$75,001–110,00022,601
$110,001+23,269

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
51.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
48.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
75.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,146
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,970
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$23,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$249.14
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
67.3%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $50,970 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
88.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,215
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
20–27
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,071
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
18:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
27.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
16.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
34.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$50,857
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White74%
Hispanic5%
Black4%
Asian3%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international6%

Other Four-year institutions in SD

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Augustana UniversityNot reported73.0%$59,217
Black Hills State University$15,91142.6%$46,674
California Intercontinental UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Dakota Wesleyan UniversityNot reported48.3%$53,728
Kairos UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mount Marty UniversityNot reported52.4%$48,179
National American University-Rapid CityNot reported0.0%$37,325
Northern State University$15,81248.9%$47,618
Oglala Lakota College$1,8958.7%$22,517
Sinte Gleska University$12,76815.4%$20,948
Sisseton Wahpeton College$2,97720.6%$31,546
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology$20,18352.9%$72,257

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$137,285$124,201Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$85,696$92,374$23,000
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.$78,637$85,063$25,000
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$69,841$68,257$30,625
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$57,912$48,733Not reported
Information Science/Studies.$56,991$85,294$29,318
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$49,821$37,073Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$48,997$47,382$26,600
Special Education and Teaching.$46,095$50,499$31,000
Computer Software and Media Applications.$42,513$58,894$27,000
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Not reported$50,162Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Not reported$52,615Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Not reported$54,726Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Not reported$121,855Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Not reported$172,649Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$100,573Not reported
Educational/Instructional Media Design.Not reported$70,644Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10