Western Technical College
La Crosse, WI · Highest award: Associate's
Read the years, not just the numbers
Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.
What it actually costs
Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.
Average net price by family income
Academic year 2023-24
| $0–30,000 | 7,483 | |
|---|---|---|
| $30,001–48,000 | 8,083 | |
| $48,001–75,000 | 10,581 | |
| $75,001–110,000 | 13,786 | |
| $110,001+ | 15,430 |
Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.
Outcomes
Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.
Compared with a high-school graduate
Students here earned a median of $45,303 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.
Admissions and size
Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.
Student body
Fall 2024
| White | 78% | |
|---|---|---|
| Hispanic | 0% | |
| Black | 3% | |
| Asian | 5% | |
| Two or more races | 4% | |
| Nonresident / international | 0% |
Other Two-year institutions in WI
| Institution | Net price | Grad rate | Earnings (10 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blackhawk Technical College | $9,330 | Not reported | $41,620 |
| Chippewa Valley Technical College | $12,285 | Not reported | $46,297 |
| Fox Valley Technical College | $11,407 | Not reported | $45,684 |
| Gateway Technical College | $12,928 | Not reported | $40,264 |
| Lakeshore Technical College | $9,653 | Not reported | $47,113 |
| Madison Area Technical College | $14,238 | 28.9% | $45,413 |
| Mid-State Technical College | $10,873 | Not reported | $42,253 |
| Milwaukee Area Technical College | $9,112 | Not reported | $41,113 |
| Milwaukee Career College | Not reported | Not reported | $28,355 |
| Moraine Park Technical College | $9,268 | Not reported | $44,371 |
| Nicolet Area Technical College | $8,255 | Not reported | $38,643 |
| Northcentral Technical College | $10,303 | Not reported | $44,925 |
Earnings by field of study
Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.
| Programme | Median earnings (4 yr) | National median | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians. | $82,460 | $73,046 | $11,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions. | $77,010 | $65,389 | $17,485 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. | $76,176 | $80,813 | $19,937 |
| Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians. | $63,116 | $55,195 | Not reported |
| Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians. | $62,743 | $62,199 | $9,166 |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR). | $62,205 | $48,148 | Not reported |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections. | $59,884 | $46,706 | $15,494 |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications. | $56,759 | $54,971 | $15,832 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management. | $56,274 | $54,726 | Not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions. | $55,416 | $57,584 | $12,917 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations. | $55,382 | $48,733 | $19,532 |
| Precision Metal Working. | $55,158 | $48,702 | $5,500 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management. | $53,672 | $52,615 | $8,705 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians. | $53,475 | $51,586 | $5,500 |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants. | $53,291 | $56,073 | $8,816 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services. | $53,218 | $42,269 | $13,500 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations. | $52,028 | $47,440 | $17,054 |
| Human Resources Management and Services. | $51,118 | $54,425 | Not reported |
| Accounting and Related Services. | $50,531 | $47,660 | $16,796 |
| Carpenters. | $44,860 | $41,835 | Not reported |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10