Private nonprofitFour-yearHispanic-serving

University of the Southwest

Hobbs, NM · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$16,927
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$16,670
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
17.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,389
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$28,210
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$16,670
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$16,670
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,100
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,600
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$0
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00015,384
$30,001–48,00014,090
$48,001–75,00015,943
$75,001–110,00020,077
$110,001+21,985

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
17.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
26.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
55.1%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,600
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,389
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,303
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$225.85
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
45.3%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $45,389 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
346
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
21:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
46.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
55.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
64.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$33,345
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White16%
Hispanic65%
Black8%
Asian1%
Two or more races1%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in NM

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Brookline College-AlbuquerqueNot reported47.1%$29,576
Burrell College of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus$4,90445.1%$38,550
Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development$12,57014.6%$24,505
Navajo Technical University$5,33811.9%$26,364
New Mexico Highlands University$14,83826.2%$45,937
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology$9,87357.0%$76,489
New Mexico State University-Main Campus$8,88955.2%$39,067
Northern New Mexico College$7,27628.7%$38,112
Southwest University of Naprapathic MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Southwestern CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
St. John's CollegeNot reported54.9%$44,985

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$104,595$103,485Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$59,588$60,111Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$49,484$62,033Not reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.$47,483$59,571Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$47,402$47,382$24,312
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$38,080$54,562$28,011
Curriculum and Instruction.Not reported$63,399Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$71,685Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Research.Not reported$66,232Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$50,499Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$64,397Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$70,406Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$59,916Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$57,802Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$69,830Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10