PublicFour-yearHispanic-serving

New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology

Socorro, NM · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$9,873
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,476
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
57.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$76,489
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$24,967
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,476
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$27,247
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,350
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,350
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$800
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0005,136
$30,001–48,0007,640
$48,001–75,00010,106
$75,001–110,00014,753
$110,001+13,464

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
57.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
57.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
77.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$54,530
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$76,489
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$19,085
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$202.33
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
72.7%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $76,489 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
44.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,207
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
20–29
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
995
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
26.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
29.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
31.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$39,182
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White46%
Hispanic41%
Black1%
Asian2%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international3%

Other Four-year institutions in NM

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Brookline College-AlbuquerqueNot reported47.1%$29,576
Burrell College of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus$4,90445.1%$38,550
Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development$12,57014.6%$24,505
Navajo Technical University$5,33811.9%$26,364
New Mexico Highlands University$14,83826.2%$45,937
New Mexico State University-Main Campus$8,88955.2%$39,067
Northern New Mexico College$7,27628.7%$38,112
Southwest University of Naprapathic MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Southwestern CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
St. John's CollegeNot reported54.9%$44,985
University of New Mexico-Main Campus$15,48954.7%$44,792

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$117,813$100,647$15,981
Mechanical Engineering.$98,213$92,135$19,500
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$95,750$92,374$15,250
Petroleum Engineering.$95,234$104,823$28,756
Chemical Engineering.$85,900$98,158$14,250
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$70,333$63,707Not reported
Biology, General.$48,211$57,214Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Chemical Engineering.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Civil Engineering.Not reported$86,517Not reported
Civil Engineering.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.Not reported$133,654Not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering.Not reported$81,171Not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering.Not reported$92,629Not reported
Materials Engineering.Not reported$91,449Not reported
Materials Engineering.Not reported$112,282Not reported
Materials Engineering.Not reported$130,845Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.Not reported$115,974Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanical Engineering.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10