PublicFour-year

University of Southern Maine

Portland, ME · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$13,596
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$11,284
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
40.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,958
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$23,717
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$11,284
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$27,944
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,280
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,832
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0009,999
$30,001–48,00010,847
$48,001–75,00012,550
$75,001–110,00016,750
$110,001+19,180

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
40.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
45.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
73.9%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,107
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,958
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$19,060
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$202.07
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
65.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $49,958 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
79.2%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,116
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
24–28
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
4,222
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
14:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
32.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
28.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
34.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$35,815
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White75%
Hispanic4%
Black9%
Asian3%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in ME

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bates CollegeNot reported89.7%$69,498
Beal UniversityNot reported36.0%$35,639
Bowdoin CollegeNot reported95.3%$82,735
Colby CollegeNot reported88.8%$80,490
College of the AtlanticNot reported68.3%$40,264
Husson UniversityNot reported59.4%$45,025
Institute for Doctoral Studies in the Visual ArtsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Maine College of Art & DesignNot reported51.5%$40,778
Maine College of Health ProfessionsNot reported66.7%$79,840
Maine Maritime Academy$23,41458.2%$89,964
Maine Media CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Saint Joseph's College of MaineNot reported65.7%$59,045

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$118,908$120,193Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$94,721$103,485Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$88,515$92,135$35,731
Public Health.$88,404$82,751Not reported
Law.$83,912$107,773Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.$79,352$85,063$25,000
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.$77,734$80,890$24,771
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$75,465$88,910$29,242
Finance and Financial Management Services.$73,068$83,343$20,500
Accounting and Related Services.$71,945$76,194$19,230
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$67,576$71,416Not reported
Public Policy Analysis.$66,469$93,020Not reported
Political Science and Government.$65,836$63,293$19,212
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$65,230$68,257$25,042
Social Work.$62,912$65,123Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and Research.$60,665$55,012$26,513
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$60,086$54,562$25,500
Criminology.$59,270$55,556$23,565
Biology, General.$58,164$57,214$25,125
Special Education and Teaching.$58,059$64,397Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10