Private nonprofitFour-year

Maine College of Art & Design

Portland, ME · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$38,338
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$42,942
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
51.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,778
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$60,128
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$42,942
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$42,942
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$17,184
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$12,600
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,250
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00031,589
$30,001–48,00033,075
$48,001–75,00035,283
$75,001–110,00040,992
$110,001+42,001

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
51.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
50.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
71.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$24,333
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,778
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$27,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$286.24
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
66.2%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $40,778 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
76.1%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
415
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
8:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
23.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
28.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
69.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$56,586
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White78%
Hispanic7%
Black1%
Asian2%
Two or more races7%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in ME

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bates CollegeNot reported89.7%$69,498
Beal UniversityNot reported36.0%$35,639
Bowdoin CollegeNot reported95.3%$82,735
Colby CollegeNot reported88.8%$80,490
College of the AtlanticNot reported68.3%$40,264
Husson UniversityNot reported59.4%$45,025
Institute for Doctoral Studies in the Visual ArtsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Maine College of Health ProfessionsNot reported66.7%$79,840
Maine Maritime Academy$23,41458.2%$89,964
Maine Media CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Saint Joseph's College of MaineNot reported65.7%$59,045
Thomas CollegeNot reported53.7%$44,991

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Journalism.$63,479$62,918Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts.$49,053$49,079Not reported
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.$41,600$43,765Not reported
Design and Applied Arts.$39,443$51,490$27,000
Fine and Studio Arts.$34,720$41,367$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$63,707Not reported
Crafts/Craft Design, Folk Art and Artisanry.Not reported$38,992Not reported
Graphic Communications.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10