Private nonprofitFour-year

Bates College

Lewiston, ME · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$29,351
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$66,590
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
89.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$69,498
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$83,532
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$66,590
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$66,590
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$18,780
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$900
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0002,397
$30,001–48,0008,958
$48,001–75,00011,336
$75,001–110,00019,468
$110,001+45,886

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
89.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
92.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
91.3%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$59,202
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$69,498
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$14,275
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$151.34
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
87.6%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $69,498 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
13.3%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,468
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
31–34
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,760
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
15.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
11.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
13.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$86,734
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White60%
Hispanic10%
Black4%
Asian7%
Two or more races8%
Nonresident / international10%

Other Four-year institutions in ME

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Beal UniversityNot reported36.0%$35,639
Bowdoin CollegeNot reported95.3%$82,735
Colby CollegeNot reported88.8%$80,490
College of the AtlanticNot reported68.3%$40,264
Husson UniversityNot reported59.4%$45,025
Institute for Doctoral Studies in the Visual ArtsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Maine College of Art & DesignNot reported51.5%$40,778
Maine College of Health ProfessionsNot reported66.7%$79,840
Maine Maritime Academy$23,41458.2%$89,964
Maine Media CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Saint Joseph's College of MaineNot reported65.7%$59,045
Thomas CollegeNot reported53.7%$44,991

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Economics.$110,880$82,686$13,000
Political Science and Government.$80,714$63,293$11,532
Psychology, General.$65,926$50,706Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.$62,082$48,590Not reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$51,642Not reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,459Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$48,471Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214$12,850
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Not reported$65,466Not reported
Neurobiology and Neurosciences.Not reported$62,451Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Classical and Ancient Studies.Not reported$50,477Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reported$55,693Not reported
Philosophy.Not reported$54,455Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Chemistry.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences.Not reported$60,190Not reported
Physics.Not reported$76,786Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10