Private nonprofitFour-year

Wesleyan University

Middletown, CT · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$30,177
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$70,342
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
92.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$73,897
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$89,020
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$70,342
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$70,342
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$19,872
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$19,872
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0004,871
$30,001–48,0003,604
$48,001–75,0006,175
$75,001–110,00017,294
$110,001+51,140

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
92.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
93.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
94.9%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$60,385
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$73,897
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$17,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$180.23
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
87.6%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $73,897 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
16.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,501
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
33–35
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
3,067
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
8:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
19.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
14.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
16.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$60,146
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White54%
Hispanic11%
Black6%
Asian9%
Two or more races7%
Nonresident / international10%

Other Four-year institutions in CT

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Albertus Magnus CollegeNot reported51.5%$60,144
Arizona College of Nursing - HartfordNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Central Connecticut State University$16,85748.4%$58,562
Charter Oak State College$15,81566.7%$64,209
Connecticut CollegeNot reported82.0%$75,001
Eastern Connecticut State University$21,06757.5%$56,469
Fairfield UniversityNot reported84.3%$88,794
Goodwin UniversityNot reported58.2%$43,596
Goodwin University - Bridgeport CampusNot reportedNot reported$43,596
Hartford International University for Religion and PeaceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Holy Apostles College and SeminaryNot reported78.6%Not reported
Mitchell CollegeNot reported42.2%$39,115

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$71,932$53,072$16,125
Natural Resources Conservation and Research.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$65,716Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$69,534Not reported
Biology, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biology, General.Not reported$69,830Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$92,983Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10