PublicFour-yearHBCU

West Virginia State University

Institute, WV · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$11,139
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,570
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
39.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,492
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$19,772
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,570
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$14,990
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,522
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,522
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,206
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0009,457
$30,001–48,00010,225
$48,001–75,00010,703
$75,001–110,00013,798
$110,001+17,355

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
39.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
36.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
56.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$32,849
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,492
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$23,338
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$247.42
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
36.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $40,492 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
96.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
955
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
15–20
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,321
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
43.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
20.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
17.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$30,715
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White62%
Hispanic3%
Black20%
Asian1%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international5%

Other Four-year institutions in WV

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American Public University SystemNot reported57.2%$44,409
Appalachian Bible CollegeNot reported71.0%$37,467
Bethany CollegeNot reported46.8%$44,512
Bluefield State University$13,68437.0%$38,217
Catholic International UniversityNot reported100.0%Not reported
Concord University$9,96639.0%$42,703
Davis & Elkins CollegeNot reported39.3%$43,411
Fairmont State University$9,03244.3%$46,857
Future Generations UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Glenville State University$14,00633.9%$39,315
Marshall University$7,50251.2%$46,354
Potomac State College of West Virginia University$9,19731.0%$55,939

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$50,169$68,257$27,045
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$50,063$55,378$25,860
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$47,026$53,072$31,125
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$46,622$54,562$24,501
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$43,924$47,382$26,932
Psychology, General.$42,434$50,706$26,305
Social Work.$41,571$51,790$37,371
English Language and Literature, General.$40,303$48,590Not reported
Communication and Media Studies.$37,866$56,359$30,788
Fine and Studio Arts.$22,764$41,367Not reported
Biotechnology.Not reported$107,682Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
International/Globalization Studies.Not reported$59,972Not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management.Not reported$50,468Not reported
Engineering, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$71,685Not reported
Computer Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Not reported$66,714Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10