Private nonprofitFour-year

Bennington College

Bennington, VT · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$30,947
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$66,262
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
71.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,289
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$87,284
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$66,262
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$66,262
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$19,108
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,130
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$2,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00018,480
$30,001–48,00018,012
$48,001–75,00022,336
$75,001–110,00025,508
$110,001+44,625

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
71.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
69.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
82.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$24,711
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,289
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$26,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$275.64
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
73.7%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $38,289 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
44.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,364
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
30–32
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
780
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
12.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
25.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
50.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$75,361
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White64%
Hispanic9%
Black4%
Asian2%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international12%

Other Four-year institutions in VT

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Champlain CollegeNot reported65.2%$58,386
Landmark CollegeNot reported43.0%$29,813
Middlebury CollegeNot reported91.4%$76,310
Norwich UniversityNot reported60.2%$65,575
SIT Graduate InstituteNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Saint Michael's CollegeNot reported72.8%$61,317
Sterling CollegeNot reported31.6%$30,573
University of Vermont$19,34378.6%$62,472
Vermont College of Fine ArtsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Vermont Law and Graduate SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Vermont State University$18,21247.2%$50,331

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other.$50,671$50,850Not reported
Visual and Performing Arts, General.$39,958$41,688$27,000
Music.$26,241$42,892Not reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.$23,575$39,775$26,445
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Architecture.Not reported$66,914Not reported
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area Studies.Not reported$56,625Not reported
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Graphic Communications.Not reported$43,283Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer Science.Not reported$107,009Not reported
Computer Software and Media Applications.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$51,642Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10