PublicFour-year

Southern Utah University

Cedar City, UT · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$10,462
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$6,962
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
60.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,296
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$19,416
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$6,962
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$21,192
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$9,236
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,200
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$800
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0006,070
$30,001–48,0007,235
$48,001–75,0009,297
$75,001–110,00012,487
$110,001+14,917

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
60.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
49.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
75.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,147
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,296
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$12,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$132.52
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
68.9%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $50,296 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
81.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
9,289
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
22:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
32.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
24.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
17.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$41,064
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White72%
Hispanic9%
Black2%
Asian2%
Two or more races1%
Nonresident / international7%

Other Four-year institutions in UT

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Arizona College of Nursing-Salt Lake CityNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Brigham Young UniversityNot reported81.0%$75,790
Careers UnlimitedNot reportedNot reported$30,829
Eagle Gate College-LaytonNot reported38.5%$37,518
Eagle Gate College-MurrayNot reported48.0%$37,518
Ensign CollegeNot reported43.3%$50,630
Joyce University of Nursing and Health SciencesNot reported54.2%$49,841
Midwives College of UtahNot reported40.0%Not reported
Neumont College of Computer ScienceNot reported62.7%$97,827
Newlane UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Nightingale CollegeNot reported20.6%$27,126
Provo CollegeNot reported51.3%$39,645

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Finance and Financial Management Services.$100,149$83,343Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$96,757$103,485Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$92,785$95,833Not reported
Air Transportation.$87,845$75,495Not reported
Education, General.$83,304$65,824Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$78,586$76,194$10,550
Public Administration.$77,113$81,408Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$74,908$88,910$11,993
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$60,008$55,378$17,500
Biology, General.$57,709$57,214$13,125
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$57,058$54,562$14,352
Marketing.$54,485$69,303Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$54,243$47,382$13,625
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$54,147$53,072$16,001
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$53,357$51,389$16,500
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.$48,998$55,693$12,425
Education, General.$48,863$47,863$8,000
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services.$47,654$54,945$15,050
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$47,382$44,125$9,000
Communication and Media Studies.$44,461$56,359$13,900

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10