College Costwise
PublicFour-year

Winthrop University

Rock Hill, SC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$15,343
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$14,678
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
57.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,185
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$30,710
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$14,678
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$28,676
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,072
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$12,642
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00012,608
$30,001–48,00012,983
$48,001–75,00013,966
$75,001–110,00018,518
$110,001+21,359

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
57.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
62.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
73.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,048
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,185
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$26,975
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$285.98
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
49.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $47,185 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
79.3%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,139
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
20–27
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
3,523
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
28.2%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
41.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
54.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$42,330
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White49%
Hispanic9%
Black32%
Asian2%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in SC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen UniversityNot reported13.3%$30,497
American College of the Building ArtsNot reported62.1%Not reported
Anderson UniversityNot reported65.7%$42,101
Benedict CollegeNot reported24.3%$31,902
Bob Jones UniversityNot reported64.8%$44,354
Charleston School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Charleston Southern UniversityNot reported47.2%$45,898
Citadel Military College of South Carolina$20,72375.0%$72,085
Claflin UniversityNot reported51.6%$40,304
Clemson University$22,25386.6%$71,513
Clinton CollegeNot reported14.1%$30,180
Coastal Carolina University$13,96648.5%$47,258

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$86,305$103,485Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.$77,922$71,685Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology.$67,214$65,184Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$61,987$68,257$27,000
Chemistry.$60,324$65,120$26,037
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services.$58,661$65,965Not reported
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services.$58,369$66,523Not reported
Social Work.$56,287$65,123Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$54,406$63,707Not reported
Design and Applied Arts.$54,194$51,490$29,917
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$53,190$60,111Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$52,363$70,786$28,000
Biology, General.$50,536$57,214$27,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$49,080$54,562$27,000
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services.$48,702$54,945$27,000
Communication and Media Studies.$48,303$56,359$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$47,645$59,916Not reported
Sociology.$47,178$52,657$27,000
Social Work.$46,548$51,790$27,000
Special Education and Teaching.$44,766$50,499$26,717

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10