PublicFour-year

Clemson University

Clemson, SC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$22,253
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$15,554
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
86.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,513
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$35,015
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$15,554
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$40,866
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,284
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,284
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,456
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00013,607
$30,001–48,00014,109
$48,001–75,00018,851
$75,001–110,00024,833
$110,001+27,922

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
86.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
86.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
93.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$58,311
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,513
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$227.94
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
77.5%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $71,513 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
38.3%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,353
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
28–32
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
23,300
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
17.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
14.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
31.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$78,377
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White76%
Hispanic9%
Black5%
Asian3%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in SC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen UniversityNot reported13.3%$30,497
American College of the Building ArtsNot reported62.1%Not reported
Anderson UniversityNot reported65.7%$42,101
Benedict CollegeNot reported24.3%$31,902
Bob Jones UniversityNot reported64.8%$44,354
Charleston School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Charleston Southern UniversityNot reported47.2%$45,898
Citadel Military College of South Carolina$20,72375.0%$72,085
Claflin UniversityNot reported51.6%$40,304
Clinton CollegeNot reported14.1%$30,180
Coastal Carolina University$13,96648.5%$47,258
Coker UniversityNot reported39.5%$40,117

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Industrial Engineering.$136,058$119,184Not reported
Real Estate.$119,115$135,104Not reported
Engineering, Other.$114,455$129,974Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$114,399$103,485Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$109,470$120,193Not reported
Information Science/Studies.$105,646$85,294$25,964
Computer Engineering.$102,762$109,015$26,955
Mechanical Engineering.$102,636$115,974Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$102,502$95,833Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$101,301$92,374$22,498
Biomedical/Medical Engineering.$100,816$106,375Not reported
Construction Management.$98,726$95,124$22,675
Marketing.$96,856$65,915Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$96,446$100,647$26,000
Engineering-Related Fields.$94,449$89,619$25,000
Biomedical/Medical Engineering.$93,705$93,451$22,500
Industrial Engineering.$93,702$95,128Not reported
Industrial Engineering.$92,491$98,442$26,750
Public Administration.$92,184$81,408Not reported
Chemical Engineering.$92,098$98,158$21,450

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10