Private nonprofitFour-year

Converse University

Spartanburg, SC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$23,283
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$25,240
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
61.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,867
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$38,838
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$25,240
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$25,240
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,380
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,096
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$800
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00014,137
$30,001–48,00018,500
$48,001–75,00023,610
$75,001–110,00024,754
$110,001+29,105

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
61.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
57.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
79.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,110
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,867
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$27,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$286.24
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
59.3%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $40,867 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
67.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,138
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–26
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,173
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
12:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
31.7%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
39.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
61.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$48,877
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White43%
Hispanic11%
Black12%
Asian1%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international9%

Other Four-year institutions in SC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen UniversityNot reported13.3%$30,497
American College of the Building ArtsNot reported62.1%Not reported
Anderson UniversityNot reported65.7%$42,101
Benedict CollegeNot reported24.3%$31,902
Bob Jones UniversityNot reported64.8%$44,354
Charleston School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Charleston Southern UniversityNot reported47.2%$45,898
Citadel Military College of South Carolina$20,72375.0%$72,085
Claflin UniversityNot reported51.6%$40,304
Clemson University$22,25386.6%$71,513
Clinton CollegeNot reported14.1%$30,180
Coastal Carolina University$13,96648.5%$47,258

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Educational Administration and Supervision.$57,212$71,685Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$55,503$68,257$26,146
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$47,686$59,916Not reported
Psychology, General.$44,498$50,706$27,000
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.$40,250$59,571Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$50,499Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$64,397Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$63,707Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,459Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Not reported$48,568Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$55,512Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$48,471Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$55,035Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10