Private nonprofitFour-year

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$28,699
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$68,686
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
96.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$111,371
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$89,028
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$68,686
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$68,686
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$19,174
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$18,360
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,358
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,000-3,012
$30,001–48,000316
$48,001–75,00010,439
$75,001–110,00025,476
$110,001+55,972

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
96.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
96.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
98.9%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$90,555
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$111,371
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$15,715
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$166.61
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
84.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $111,371 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
5.4%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,553
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
34–36
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
10,650
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
8:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
18.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
16.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
9.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$39,832
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White27%
Hispanic11%
Black9%
Asian28%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international13%

Other Four-year institutions in PA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Academy of Vocal ArtsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Albright CollegeNot reported50.7%$58,700
Allegheny CollegeNot reported72.5%$62,069
Alvernia UniversityNot reported55.5%$55,055
American College of Financial ServicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arcadia UniversityNot reported66.7%$58,336
Bryn Athyn College of the New ChurchNot reported67.7%$40,457
Bryn Mawr CollegeNot reported81.8%$75,217
Bucknell UniversityNot reported86.3%$93,807
Byzantine Catholic Seminary of Saints Cyril and MethodiusNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Cairn University-LanghorneNot reported59.7%$44,172
Carlow UniversityNot reported59.9%$51,051

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Finance and Financial Management Services.$316,195$110,694Not reported
Law.$302,120$107,773Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$272,321$103,485Not reported
Marketing.$255,357$79,106Not reported
International/Globalization Studies.$253,631$86,219Not reported
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.$252,729$97,366Not reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other.$250,392$81,651Not reported
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.$246,660$236,784Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$241,380$92,374$15,000
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology.$237,136$82,527Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$233,999$89,981Not reported
Real Estate.$230,624$135,104Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$222,544$124,201Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.$202,069$83,343$12,865
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$176,358$138,131Not reported
Dentistry.$173,344$166,240Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.$171,744$100,573Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$169,879$80,020$19,875
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods.$153,279$86,176$15,750
Computer Science.$147,612$145,571Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10