Private nonprofitFour-year

Denison University

Granville, OH · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$40,007
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$67,000
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
78.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,753
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$81,900
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$67,000
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$67,000
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$16,400
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$16,400
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00016,656
$30,001–48,00013,086
$48,001–75,00017,827
$75,001–110,00020,839
$110,001+48,472

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
78.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
84.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
88.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$51,352
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,753
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$26,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$275.64
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
80.1%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $67,753 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
17.4%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,410
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
30–33
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,380
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
17.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
12.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
50.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$77,801
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White60%
Hispanic7%
Black5%
Asian4%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international17%

Other Four-year institutions in OH

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Air Force Institute of Technology-Graduate School of Engineering & ManagementNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Allegheny Wesleyan CollegeNot reported46.2%$37,453
American Institute of Alternative MedicineNot reported60.0%$40,805
Antioch CollegeNot reported41.2%Not reported
Antioch UniversityNot reportedNot reported$51,541
Arizona College of Nursing-CincinnatiNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arizona College of Nursing-ClevelandNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Art Academy of CincinnatiNot reported41.3%$34,368
Ashland UniversityNot reported60.6%$52,928
Athenaeum of OhioNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Aultman College of Nursing and Health SciencesNot reported53.3%$63,582
Baldwin Wallace UniversityNot reported66.8%$54,122

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Economics.$97,394$82,686$24,102
Communication and Media Studies.$66,730$56,359$25,187
Education, General.$65,429$49,808Not reported
Biology, General.$55,654$57,214$25,000
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.$49,358$55,000Not reported
Sociology and Anthropology.$49,035$46,959$26,500
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,459Not reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$49,429Not reported
Non-Professional Legal Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$48,471Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Not reported$65,466Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Applied Mathematics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Data Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$54,562Not reported
Philosophy.Not reported$54,455Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10