PublicFour-year

Truman State University

Kirksville, MO · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$12,780
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,838
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
68.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,280
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$25,115
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,838
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$18,566
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,128
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,128
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0006,046
$30,001–48,0007,926
$48,001–75,00012,426
$75,001–110,00015,425
$110,001+17,220

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
68.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
71.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
84.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,966
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,280
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$222.63
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
77.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $56,280 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
83.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,320
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
25–31
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,513
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
12:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
22.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
16.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
27.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$70,948
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White78%
Hispanic4%
Black2%
Asian2%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international10%

Other Four-year institutions in MO

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
A T Still University of Health SciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Aquinas Institute of TheologyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arizona College of Nursing-St LouisNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Avila UniversityNot reported52.4%$52,773
Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of NursingNot reportedNot reported$84,393
Bolivar Technical CollegeNot reported91.7%Not reported
Bryan UniversityNot reported89.6%$28,725
Calvary UniversityNot reported52.2%$45,421
Central Christian College of the BibleNot reported21.9%$34,675
Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended StudiesNot reported0.0%$48,991
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and SciencesNot reported51.2%$48,991
Chamberlain University-MissouriNot reported100.0%$92,405

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$106,203$92,374$26,000
Accounting and Related Services.$91,303$95,833Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$84,515$76,194$23,250
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$77,315$88,910$25,094
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$70,633$68,257$24,549
Biology, General.$61,647$57,214$20,305
Political Science and Government.$60,586$63,293$26,649
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$60,478$67,030Not reported
Public Health.$60,157$58,808$23,278
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$56,596$55,378$21,997
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$55,213$54,562$22,500
Sociology.$52,584$52,657Not reported
Agriculture, General.$52,303$53,676$19,500
Communication and Media Studies.$50,785$56,359$23,250
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$48,320$58,928$19,875
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$44,705$63,707Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$44,010$59,916Not reported
History.$43,405$50,680$21,125
Research and Experimental Psychology.$41,487$55,695$19,748
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.$40,026$48,471$26,899

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10