Private nonprofitFour-year

Carleton College

Northfield, MN · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$25,407
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$68,892
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
89.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$75,525
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$84,893
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$68,892
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$68,892
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$17,586
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$938
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0007,881
$30,001–48,0008,203
$48,001–75,0009,680
$75,001–110,00018,485
$110,001+44,082

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
89.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
90.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
96.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$53,989
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$75,525
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$16,750
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$177.58
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
92.3%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $75,525 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
20.4%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,517
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
32–34
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,086
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
8:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
15.7%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
16.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
43.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$78,779
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White51%
Hispanic10%
Black6%
Asian10%
Two or more races9%
Nonresident / international10%

Other Four-year institutions in MN

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Academy CollegeNot reported36.0%$48,300
Adler Graduate SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
American Academy of Health and WellnessNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Augsburg UniversityNot reported51.7%$58,829
Bemidji State University$15,26147.9%$53,755
Bethany Global UniversityNot reported56.3%Not reported
Bethany Lutheran CollegeNot reported54.9%$46,110
Bethel UniversityNot reported71.4%$63,764
Bethlehem College & SeminaryNot reported69.6%Not reported
Capella UniversityNot reported20.0%$42,189
College of Saint BenedictNot reported77.1%$63,260
Concordia College at MoorheadNot reported61.1%$59,317

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Economics.$87,193$82,686$19,500
Political Science and Government.$53,975$63,293$19,000
Natural Resources Conservation and Research.Not reported$55,012Not reported
Area Studies.Not reported$56,625Not reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Not reported$51,710Not reported
Computer Science.Not reported$107,009$18,233
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services.Not reported$49,984Not reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$62,169Not reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,459Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$49,429Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590$21,167
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214$17,929
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562$11,000
Statistics.Not reported$92,425Not reported
Cognitive Science.Not reported$81,496Not reported
Philosophy.Not reported$54,455Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120$17,000

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10