PublicFour-year

Eastern Michigan University

Ypsilanti, MI · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$15,407
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$16,240
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
46.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,793
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$29,640
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$16,240
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$16,240
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,652
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,078
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00013,250
$30,001–48,00012,863
$48,001–75,00013,748
$75,001–110,00018,243
$110,001+21,036

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
46.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
48.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
68.8%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,148
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,793
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$25,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$265.04
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
43.8%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $51,793 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
79.6%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,066
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–27
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
10,055
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
14:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
34.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
36.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
42.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$36,983
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White56%
Hispanic10%
Black17%
Asian3%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international5%

Other Four-year institutions in MI

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Adrian CollegeNot reported48.4%$55,504
Albion CollegeNot reported61.6%$58,799
Alma CollegeNot reported62.9%$54,742
Alpena Community College$3,32051.5%$36,442
Andrews UniversityNot reported71.5%$53,187
Aquinas CollegeNot reported65.4%$49,584
Arizona College of Nursing-SouthfieldNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Baker CollegeNot reported35.8%$35,833
Baker College - Royal Oak CampusNot reportedNot reported$35,833
Baker College of CadillacNot reportedNot reported$35,833
Baker College of JacksonNot reportedNot reported$35,833
Baker College of MuskegonNot reportedNot reported$35,833

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Engineering-Related Fields.$132,073$125,651Not reported
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians.$126,145$103,349Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$123,869$127,347Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$117,970$120,193Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$96,337$103,485Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.$94,951$75,122Not reported
Air Transportation.$91,648$85,825$29,750
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$90,620$92,374$24,411
Science, Technology and Society.$90,551$67,452Not reported
Construction Management.$87,028$95,124$28,750
Economics.$86,909$82,686$26,536
Accounting and Related Services.$85,647$95,833Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$85,611$88,910$28,500
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.$82,886$85,063$25,625
Human Resources Management and Services.$82,123$83,558Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.$79,829$82,073$28,909
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$77,243$71,416Not reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.$75,926$75,975Not reported
Engineering-Related Fields.$75,528$89,619$31,122
Computer Science.$74,818$107,009Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10