PublicFour-year

Kansas State University

Manhattan, KS · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$19,406
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$11,221
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
71.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,262
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$27,402
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$11,221
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$28,568
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,830
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,228
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,020
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00013,178
$30,001–48,00014,143
$48,001–75,00015,369
$75,001–110,00020,110
$110,001+23,665

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
71.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
69.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
85.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,330
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,262
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,250
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$225.29
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
68.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $57,262 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
81.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,151
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
20–27
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
15,142
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
19:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
22.5%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
20.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
36.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$67,000
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White79%
Hispanic10%
Black3%
Asian2%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in KS

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Baker UniversityNot reported57.8%$63,855
Baker University School of NursingNot reportedNot reported$63,855
Barclay CollegeNot reported32.3%$36,355
Benedictine CollegeNot reported61.6%$53,175
Bethany CollegeNot reported35.7%$49,694
Bethel College-North NewtonNot reported41.1%$49,898
Central Christian College of KansasNot reported27.0%$44,468
Cleveland University-Kansas CityNot reported100.0%$52,304
Donnelly CollegeNot reported45.8%$35,715
Emporia State University$16,26156.1%$47,601
Fort Hays State University$12,56947.7%$48,928
Friends UniversityNot reported43.4%$52,113

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Veterinary Medicine.$119,983$131,316Not reported
Agricultural Business and Management.$115,779$90,332Not reported
Veterinary Biomedical and Clinical Sciences.$110,015$119,562Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$107,194$92,374$25,871
Food Science and Technology.$105,978$88,332Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.$101,913$110,694Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$97,031$103,485Not reported
Animal Sciences.$96,821$75,394Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$95,640$100,647$23,105
Industrial Engineering.$93,098$98,442$25,000
Chemical Engineering.$92,068$98,158$24,750
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician.$91,809$93,843$27,000
Architectural Engineering.$91,336$89,406$27,000
Agricultural and Food Products Processing.$91,040$80,757$23,250
Mechanical Engineering.$88,533$92,135$25,000
Accounting and Related Services.$87,506$95,833Not reported
Management Information Systems and Services.$85,396$83,290$24,308
Air Transportation.$85,147$85,825$21,500
Civil Engineering.$83,453$86,517$25,250
Agricultural Engineering.$81,376$84,624$22,873

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10