PublicFour-year

Emporia State University

Emporia, KS · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$16,261
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$7,106
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
56.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,601
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$21,967
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$7,106
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$15,419
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,950
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,950
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,243
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00011,452
$30,001–48,00011,905
$48,001–75,00014,229
$75,001–110,00018,994
$110,001+19,531

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
56.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
52.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
76.8%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,389
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,601
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$19,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$206.73
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
59.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $47,601 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
97.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,120
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–24
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,239
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
34.0%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
34.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
59.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$51,017
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White68%
Hispanic13%
Black4%
Asian1%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international4%

Other Four-year institutions in KS

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Baker UniversityNot reported57.8%$63,855
Baker University School of NursingNot reportedNot reported$63,855
Barclay CollegeNot reported32.3%$36,355
Benedictine CollegeNot reported61.6%$53,175
Bethany CollegeNot reported35.7%$49,694
Bethel College-North NewtonNot reported41.1%$49,898
Central Christian College of KansasNot reported27.0%$44,468
Cleveland University-Kansas CityNot reported100.0%$52,304
Donnelly CollegeNot reported45.8%$35,715
Fort Hays State University$12,56947.7%$48,928
Friends UniversityNot reported43.4%$52,113
Haskell Indian Nations University$3,13417.9%$37,043

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$89,555$103,485Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.$80,168$71,685Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$78,956$95,833Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$71,002$88,910$24,440
Mathematics.$70,133$72,654Not reported
Human Resources Management and Services.$68,568$68,069$21,257
Information Science/Studies.$67,263$85,294$19,237
Accounting and Related Services.$65,271$76,194$20,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$65,259$63,707Not reported
Biology, General.$65,043$57,214$22,895
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$60,719$68,257$16,938
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$60,355$60,111Not reported
Curriculum and Instruction.$59,568$63,399Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$59,455$65,226Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.$58,389$64,397Not reported
Marketing.$55,527$69,303$27,000
Library Science and Administration.$54,843$56,301Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$53,602$59,916Not reported
Psychology, General.$53,022$50,706$19,500
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.$52,486$59,571Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10