Private nonprofitFour-year

Wartburg College

Waverly, IA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$32,908
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$26,250
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
64.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,201
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$64,359
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$26,250
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$26,250
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,750
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,312
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,234
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00021,688
$30,001–48,00020,751
$48,001–75,00027,056
$75,001–110,00028,873
$110,001+38,864

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
64.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
67.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
75.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,795
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,201
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$27,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$286.24
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
79.1%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $56,201 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
75.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,136
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
21–27
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,452
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
17.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
22.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
67.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$83,926
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White81%
Hispanic4%
Black5%
Asian0%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international5%

Other Four-year institutions in IA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen CollegeNot reportedNot reported$71,261
Briar Cliff UniversityNot reported47.5%$54,475
Buena Vista UniversityNot reported61.7%$49,156
Central CollegeNot reported66.2%$54,317
Clarke UniversityNot reported56.1%$55,396
Coe CollegeNot reported65.9%$57,125
Cornell CollegeNot reported61.8%$53,460
Des Moines University-Osteopathic Medical CenterNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Divine Word CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Dordt UniversityNot reported70.1%$52,559
Drake UniversityNot reported74.0%$71,901
Emmaus Bible CollegeNot reported83.0%$42,631

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Accounting and Related Services.$89,696$76,194$26,840
Engineering Science.$78,959$93,782Not reported
Business/Commerce, General.$74,824$68,407$27,000
Biology, General.$67,036$57,214$27,000
Communication and Media Studies.$48,433$56,359$26,750
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$48,074$51,389$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$47,698$47,382$25,757
Psychology, General.$47,110$50,706$27,000
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Library Science, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Not reported$65,466Not reported
Neurobiology and Neurosciences.Not reported$62,451$27,000
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution.Not reported$63,114Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$54,562Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Physics.Not reported$76,786Not reported
Community Organization and Advocacy.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10