Private nonprofitFour-year

Drake University

Des Moines, IA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$29,127
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$52,130
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
74.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,901
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$64,835
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$52,130
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$52,130
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,452
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,701
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$510
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00025,824
$30,001–48,00023,275
$48,001–75,00025,171
$75,001–110,00027,408
$110,001+33,126

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
74.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
76.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
84.1%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$58,233
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,901
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$23,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$243.84
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
83.6%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $71,901 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
63.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,292
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
24–29
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,543
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
11:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
15.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
21.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
44.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$89,603
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White68%
Hispanic9%
Black8%
Asian5%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international4%

Other Four-year institutions in IA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen CollegeNot reportedNot reported$71,261
Briar Cliff UniversityNot reported47.5%$54,475
Buena Vista UniversityNot reported61.7%$49,156
Central CollegeNot reported66.2%$54,317
Clarke UniversityNot reported56.1%$55,396
Coe CollegeNot reported65.9%$57,125
Cornell CollegeNot reported61.8%$53,460
Des Moines University-Osteopathic Medical CenterNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Divine Word CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Dordt UniversityNot reported70.1%$52,559
Emmaus Bible CollegeNot reported83.0%$42,631
Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological SeminaryNot reported67.5%$40,650

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration.$140,314$138,348Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$137,890$103,485Not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods.$97,132$86,176$23,979
Accounting and Related Services.$91,269$95,833Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$90,639$92,374$21,281
Economics.$88,638$82,686Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.$88,637$83,343$25,000
Accounting and Related Services.$87,582$76,194$20,500
Management Information Systems and Services.$87,551$83,290Not reported
Law.$87,375$107,773Not reported
Public Administration.$83,764$81,408Not reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration.$75,867$116,539$23,000
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$73,523$68,257$20,485
Marketing.$71,246$69,303$19,250
Educational Administration and Supervision.$68,233$71,685Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.$67,547$65,466$20,375
Political Science and Government.$67,257$63,293$21,138
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.$63,302$63,560$23,250
Journalism.$62,969$56,278Not reported
Curriculum and Instruction.$62,724$63,399Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10