PublicFour-year

University of Northern Iowa

Cedar Falls, IA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$15,901
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,936
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
67.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,177
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$22,278
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,936
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$21,712
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$9,986
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,986
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$800
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00010,863
$30,001–48,00011,751
$48,001–75,00014,099
$75,001–110,00017,740
$110,001+18,706

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
67.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
64.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
81.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,222
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,177
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$19,691
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$208.76
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
72.8%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $55,177 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
92.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,122
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–26
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
7,529
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
18:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
22.5%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
27.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
46.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$70,583
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White83%
Hispanic6%
Black3%
Asian2%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in IA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen CollegeNot reportedNot reported$71,261
Briar Cliff UniversityNot reported47.5%$54,475
Buena Vista UniversityNot reported61.7%$49,156
Central CollegeNot reported66.2%$54,317
Clarke UniversityNot reported56.1%$55,396
Coe CollegeNot reported65.9%$57,125
Cornell CollegeNot reported61.8%$53,460
Des Moines University-Osteopathic Medical CenterNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Divine Word CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Dordt UniversityNot reported70.1%$52,559
Drake UniversityNot reported74.0%$71,901
Emmaus Bible CollegeNot reported83.0%$42,631

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer Science.$89,305$107,009$26,200
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.$87,580$80,890$23,213
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$87,003$103,485Not reported
Construction Management.$85,688$95,124$23,000
Real Estate.$83,592$84,821$23,125
Accounting and Related Services.$82,641$76,194$21,525
Finance and Financial Management Services.$81,172$83,343$20,750
Educational Administration and Supervision.$81,109$71,685Not reported
Management Information Systems and Services.$76,329$83,290$22,500
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$74,838$68,257$19,500
Marketing.$72,757$69,303$17,750
Economics.$71,905$82,686$17,169
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$70,149$63,707Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$64,309$62,033Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$64,303$67,030Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.$64,067$63,560$21,096
Gerontology.$63,876$54,051Not reported
Mathematics.$62,739$72,654Not reported
Biology, General.$62,391$57,214$21,500
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$60,509$58,928$18,067

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10