PublicFour-year

Iowa State University

Ames, IA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$18,589
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$10,787
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
75.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,386
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$24,018
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$10,787
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$28,881
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,808
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,576
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$700
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00010,582
$30,001–48,00011,506
$48,001–75,00015,463
$75,001–110,00019,605
$110,001+22,496

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
75.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
75.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
87.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$53,873
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,386
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$22,869
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$242.45
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
75.9%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $63,386 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
88.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,204
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
21–28
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
25,367
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
18:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
19.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
18.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
43.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$76,488
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White75%
Hispanic7%
Black2%
Asian4%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international4%

Other Four-year institutions in IA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Allen CollegeNot reportedNot reported$71,261
Briar Cliff UniversityNot reported47.5%$54,475
Buena Vista UniversityNot reported61.7%$49,156
Central CollegeNot reported66.2%$54,317
Clarke UniversityNot reported56.1%$55,396
Coe CollegeNot reported65.9%$57,125
Cornell CollegeNot reported61.8%$53,460
Des Moines University-Osteopathic Medical CenterNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Divine Word CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Dordt UniversityNot reported70.1%$52,559
Drake UniversityNot reported74.0%$71,901
Emmaus Bible CollegeNot reported83.0%$42,631

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Industrial Engineering.$139,590$119,184Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$136,132$133,654Not reported
Statistics.$130,131$123,816Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$123,109$103,485Not reported
Plant Sciences.$116,149$70,814Not reported
Veterinary Medicine.$111,742$131,316Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$106,245$115,974Not reported
Computer Engineering.$105,753$109,015$24,337
Computer Science.$104,211$107,009$24,663
Construction Engineering.$100,676$97,303$20,500
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$99,705$100,647$26,997
Civil Engineering.$95,102$98,323Not reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.$94,089$98,207$26,572
Business/Managerial Economics.$93,379$77,981Not reported
Industrial Engineering.$92,914$98,442$23,750
Chemical Engineering.$92,773$98,158$20,188
Accounting and Related Services.$92,050$95,833Not reported
Agricultural Engineering.$88,576$84,624$21,500
Agricultural Engineering.$87,824$91,410Not reported
Management Information Systems and Services.$87,413$83,290Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10