PublicFour-year

University of Arkansas-Fort Smith

Fort Smith, AR · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$10,574
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$7,334
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
37.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,102
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$19,048
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$7,334
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$12,182
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,082
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,111
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,416
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0008,890
$30,001–48,0009,391
$48,001–75,00011,392
$75,001–110,00013,804
$110,001+14,297

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
37.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
45.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
69.8%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,925
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,102
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$18,250
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$193.48
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
51.7%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $41,102 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
80.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,050
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–23
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
4,091
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
18:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
48.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
39.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
25.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$29,173
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White56%
Hispanic20%
Black4%
Asian5%
Two or more races10%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in AR

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Arkansas Baptist CollegeNot reported7.4%$28,418
Arkansas Colleges of Health EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arkansas State University$12,36655.4%$42,617
Arkansas Tech University$12,97048.6%$41,766
Central Baptist CollegeNot reported34.1%$46,789
Champion Christian CollegeNot reported0.0%Not reported
Crowley's Ridge CollegeNot reported35.9%$39,533
Ecclesia CollegeNot reported40.0%$40,650
Harding UniversityNot reported68.8%$52,876
Henderson State University$23,40537.3%$43,459
Hendrix CollegeNot reported72.4%$60,376
Jackson Theological SeminaryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$82,688$92,374$21,823
Engineering, General.$75,794$72,916Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$73,708$88,910$24,250
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$72,074$70,786Not reported
Chemistry.$66,817$65,120Not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.$65,470$68,061$24,625
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$58,435$65,389$12,491
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$50,020$68,257$19,148
Biology, General.$48,712$57,214$17,081
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$45,378$51,389$16,500
Social Work.$45,275$51,790$23,500
History.$45,097$50,680$19,700
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$44,197$47,382$20,304
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$43,509$55,378$18,750
Psychology, General.$40,519$50,706$22,500
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$37,641$53,072$28,187
Communication and Media Studies.$35,760$56,359$23,000
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$35,639$44,125$13,140
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.$31,742$37,587Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$48,471Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10