Private for-profitTwo-year

Douglas J Aveda Institute

East Lansing, MI · Highest award: Certificate

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$25,357
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$26,849
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
Not reported
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00022,881
$30,001–48,00023,375
$48,001–75,00025,072
$75,001–110,00028,046
$110,001+28,425

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
Not reported
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$24,836
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$26,849
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$6,333
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$67.14
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
43.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $26,849 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
777
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
12:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
37.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
45.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
53.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$30,811
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White66%
Hispanic6%
Black14%
Asian2%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Two-year institutions in MI

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bay de Noc Community College$11,949Not reported$35,090
Carnegie InstituteNot reportedNot reported$38,244
Charm Beauty SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
DSDTNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Delta College$4,547Not reported$37,781
Dorsey CollegeNot reportedNot reported$29,392
Dorsey College-DearbornNot reportedNot reported$29,392
Dorsey College-RosevilleNot reportedNot reported$29,392
Dorsey College-SaginawNot reportedNot reported$29,392
Dorsey College-WayneNot reportedNot reported$29,392
Glen Oaks Community College$8,918Not reported$37,540
Gogebic Community College$5,397Not reported$40,950

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services.$31,535$29,652$6,598
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.$29,047$26,307$9,833

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10