PublicFour-yearHispanic-serving

University of Puerto Rico-Carolina

Carolina, PR · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$12,945
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$7,986
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
37.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$30,626
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$19,396
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$7,986
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$7,986
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,613
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$2,793
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00012,287
$30,001–48,00013,001
$48,001–75,00015,267
$75,001–110,00016,900
$110,001+18,229

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
37.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
56.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
71.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$22,317
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$30,626
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$5,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$58.31
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
57.9%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $30,626 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
54.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
932
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,404
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
20:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
18.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
76.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
3.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$20,302
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White0%
Hispanic96%
Black3%
Asian0%
Two or more races0%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in PR

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Albizu University-San JuanNot reported67.0%$41,544
Atenas UniversityNot reported42.5%$20,231
Atlantic UniversityNot reported39.4%$25,272
CEM College-HumacaoNot reported38.2%$21,033
CEM College-San JuanNot reported85.9%$21,033
Caribbean University-BayamonNot reported42.5%$22,842
Caribbean University-CarolinaNot reported44.4%$22,842
Caribbean University-PonceNot reported36.7%$22,842
Caribbean University-Vega BajaNot reported50.0%$22,842
Center for Advanced Studies On Puerto Rico and the CaribbeanNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Colegio Universitario de San Juan$-77832.3%$26,510
Dewey University-CarolinaNot reported62.1%$19,761

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Hospitality Administration/Management.$36,742$56,726Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$32,928$55,378Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology.$26,214$50,523Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.$22,039$83,343Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$21,492$68,257Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.$18,739$63,560Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$64,773Not reported
Natural Sciences.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reported$55,693Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Security Science and Technology.Not reported$57,805Not reported
Design and Applied Arts.Not reported$38,127Not reported
Design and Applied Arts.Not reported$51,490Not reported
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Not reported$28,311Not reported
Hospitality Administration/Management.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Graphic Communications.Not reported$43,283Not reported
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10