PublicFour-year

Western Carolina University

Cullowhee, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$13,315
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$4,630
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
60.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,458
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$19,992
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$4,630
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$8,630
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,354
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$12,854
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$800
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0008,816
$30,001–48,00010,012
$48,001–75,00012,605
$75,001–110,00017,060
$110,001+17,992

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
60.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
62.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
79.1%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,085
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,458
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,868
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$231.84
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
59.5%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $49,458 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
81.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,157
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–25
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
10,024
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
32.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
34.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
44.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$46,182
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White75%
Hispanic9%
Black7%
Asian1%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolina UniversityNot reported21.6%$32,864
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$122,811$120,193Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$100,807$103,485Not reported
Computer Science.$86,853$107,009$27,000
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician.$83,954$93,843$27,000
Engineering, General.$82,500$89,359$25,550
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$79,533$88,910$23,163
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.$79,441$84,599$23,154
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General.$78,801$80,526$25,250
Human Resources Management and Services.$77,673$83,558Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$77,060$82,893Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$77,046$62,033Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$75,418$95,833Not reported
Public Administration.$72,948$81,408Not reported
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities.$71,161$100,487Not reported
Public Administration.$70,331$65,093$18,375
Educational Administration and Supervision.$68,241$71,685Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$65,010$70,786$23,835
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$63,641$89,981Not reported
Management Information Systems and Services.$62,128$83,290$23,000
Public Health.$61,698$58,808$26,343

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10