Private nonprofitFour-year

Carolina University

Winston-Salem, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$20,828
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$17,575
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
21.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$32,864
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$32,680
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$17,575
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$17,575
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,400
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$12,400
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$2,600
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00017,738
$30,001–48,00017,560
$48,001–75,00022,993
$75,001–110,00023,597
$110,001+24,152

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
21.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
28.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
56.4%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$30,657
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$32,864
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$20,287
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$215.08
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
59.7%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $32,864 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
39.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
460
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
17:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
32.7%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
37.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
44.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$32,421
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White28%
Hispanic12%
Black18%
Asian2%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international33%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793
Chamberlain University-North CarolinaNot reportedNot reported$92,405

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Philosophy.$115,630$70,449Not reported
Bible/Biblical Studies.$56,995$44,533$20,926
Theological and Ministerial Studies.$51,238$61,300Not reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies.$38,859$44,535$35,382
Education, General.Not reported$65,824Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$47,433Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$71,685Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$100,573Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
American Sign Language.Not reported$45,044Not reported
American Sign Language.Not reported$73,769Not reported
Data Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reported$55,693Not reported
Philosophy.Not reported$60,272Not reported
Philosophy.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$46,769Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10