Private nonprofitFour-year

Salem College

Winston-Salem, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$18,277
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$33,848
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
57.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,640
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$48,532
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$33,848
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$33,848
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,710
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,850
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,250
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00019,074
$30,001–48,00016,001
$48,001–75,00016,147
$75,001–110,00019,940
$110,001+24,027

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
57.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
61.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
67.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,496
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,640
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$26,649
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$282.52
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
54.2%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $44,640 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
76.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,082
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
16–22
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
423
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
32.7%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
55.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
44.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$35,899
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White49%
Hispanic20%
Black19%
Asian2%
Two or more races0%
Nonresident / international4%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolina UniversityNot reported21.6%$32,864
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$68,431$68,257$27,000
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$61,499$60,111Not reported
Psychology, General.$49,464$50,706$27,000
Education, General.$47,488$49,808$26,407
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$45,560$55,378Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$64,397Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$59,916Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$63,707Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$48,471Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214$26,750
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Not reported$65,466Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Biological and Physical Sciences.Not reported$58,891Not reported
Historic Preservation and Conservation.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$54,562Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10