PublicFour-year

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Charlotte, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$15,435
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$7,239
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
69.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,289
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$23,010
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$7,239
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$22,492
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$14,458
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,458
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$700
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00010,357
$30,001–48,00010,668
$48,001–75,00013,690
$75,001–110,00019,822
$110,001+21,761

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
69.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
71.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
85.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,812
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,289
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$227.94
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
59.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $57,289 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
79.6%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,231
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
21–28
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
24,453
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
21:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
28.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
33.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
39.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$44,089
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White46%
Hispanic16%
Black18%
Asian11%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolina UniversityNot reported21.6%$32,864
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.$158,814$121,855Not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods.$151,262$124,807Not reported
Engineering-Related Fields.$128,510$125,651Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$125,281$120,193Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$122,997$103,485Not reported
Business/Managerial Economics.$112,577$97,526Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$108,285$124,201Not reported
Computer Science.$107,088$145,571Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$101,786$95,833Not reported
Medical Illustration and Informatics.$99,753$101,441Not reported
Computer Engineering.$97,109$109,015$21,875
Management Information Systems and Services.$95,640$83,290Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$93,953$100,647$24,375
Computer Science.$93,037$107,009$23,250
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician.$92,567$93,843$27,000
Educational Administration and Supervision.$90,526$100,573Not reported
Physics.$89,944$76,786$28,750
Civil Engineering.$88,619$98,323Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$88,265$92,135$27,000
Educational/Instructional Media Design.$88,054$75,166Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10