Private nonprofitFour-year

Montreat College

Montreat, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$27,061
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$36,450
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
50.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,151
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$47,133
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$36,450
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$36,450
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,890
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,038
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00023,261
$30,001–48,00024,904
$48,001–75,00025,075
$75,001–110,00025,700
$110,001+30,607

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
50.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
41.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
58.9%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,763
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,151
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$25,813
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$273.66
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
52.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $45,151 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
69.2%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
762
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
11:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
30.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
39.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
67.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$43,222
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White62%
Hispanic2%
Black12%
Asian1%
Two or more races1%
Nonresident / international6%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolina UniversityNot reported21.6%$32,864
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$72,401$103,485Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$67,034$68,257$24,168
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.$55,401$59,571Not reported
Communication and Media Studies.$41,209$56,359Not reported
Psychology, Other.$39,845$50,748Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Education, Other.Not reported$49,113Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$44,125Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214Not reported
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences.Not reported$62,172Not reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General.Not reported$50,532Not reported
Outdoor Education.Not reported$39,157Not reported
Bible/Biblical Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religious Music and Worship.Not reported$41,456Not reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies.Not reported$44,535Not reported
Theology and Religious Vocations, Other.Not reported$43,566Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Security Science and Technology.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10