Private nonprofitFour-yearHBCU

Johnson C Smith University

Charlotte, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$20,894
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$21,300
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
34.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,680
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$34,923
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$21,300
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$21,300
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,600
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,410
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00019,940
$30,001–48,00021,165
$48,001–75,00021,005
$75,001–110,00019,722
$110,001+29,050

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
34.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
43.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
71.3%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$31,478
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,680
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$30,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$318.05
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
26.5%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $42,680 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
45.2%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,244
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
12:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
36.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
69.5%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
74.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$26,404
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White1%
Hispanic0%
Black81%
Asian0%
Two or more races0%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolina UniversityNot reported21.6%$32,864
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Social Work.$61,497$65,123Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$51,371$68,257$37,038
Criminology.$46,215$55,556$32,047
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$44,678$54,562$34,078
Biology, General.$42,595$57,214$28,123
Communication and Media Studies.$40,600$56,359$31,000
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$38,941$53,072$36,285
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Psychology, General.Not reported$50,706$33,093
Social Work.Not reported$51,790$41,000
Economics.Not reported$82,686Not reported
Political Science and Government.Not reported$63,293Not reported
Visual and Performing Arts, General.Not reported$41,688Not reported
Dance.Not reported$39,980Not reported
Music.Not reported$42,892Not reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Not reported$52,119Not reported
Public Health.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
History.Not reported$50,680Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Not reported$92,374$31,000
Computer Engineering.Not reported$109,015Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10