PublicFour-yearHBCU

Fayetteville State University

Fayetteville, NC · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$7,892
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$4,353
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
38.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,144
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$16,652
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$4,353
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$8,353
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,449
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,449
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$372
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0006,233
$30,001–48,0006,908
$48,001–75,0008,983
$75,001–110,00013,354
$110,001+14,112

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
38.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
45.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
75.3%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,831
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,144
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$22,987
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$243.70
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
29.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $40,144 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
82.2%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
959
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
15–19
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
5,762
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
20:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
40.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
56.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
46.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$23,815
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White14%
Hispanic10%
Black64%
Asian1%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in NC

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Appalachian State University$16,83674.5%$51,836
Barton CollegeNot reported45.9%$47,913
Belmont Abbey CollegeNot reported46.7%$47,937
Bennett CollegeNot reported25.0%$36,654
Brevard CollegeNot reported48.8%$43,545
Cabarrus College of Health SciencesNot reported71.4%$58,708
Campbell UniversityNot reported61.0%$54,886
Carolina Christian CollegeNot reported15.4%$40,672
Carolina College of Biblical StudiesNot reported0.0%$24,581
Carolina UniversityNot reported21.6%$32,864
Carolinas College of Health SciencesNot reported100.0%$64,624
Catawba CollegeNot reported47.3%$48,793

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$94,069$103,485Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$88,701$88,910$22,052
Fire Protection.$73,969$86,436$15,777
Educational Administration and Supervision.$71,181$71,685Not reported
Social Work.$52,915$65,123Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$50,732$47,382$30,087
Biology, General.$48,881$57,214$25,000
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$48,094$68,257$28,786
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$46,660$55,378$26,000
Social Work.$46,119$51,790$32,500
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$45,610$53,072$35,680
Sociology.$43,889$52,657$31,888
Psychology, General.$43,358$50,706$27,000
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$42,270$58,716$26,833
Communication and Media Studies.$38,325$56,359$29,417
Computer Science.$36,164$107,009$27,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Chemistry.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Materials Sciences.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10