Private nonprofitFour-year

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Troy, NY · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$36,228
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$64,081
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
83.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$102,051
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$82,404
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$64,081
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$64,081
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$18,120
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$18,120
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,350
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00024,078
$30,001–48,00026,289
$48,001–75,00028,212
$75,001–110,00036,230
$110,001+42,541

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
83.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
84.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
90.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$83,054
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$102,051
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$23,750
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$251.79
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
91.7%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $102,051 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
63.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,456
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
30–34
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
5,714
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
14:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
13.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
19.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
51.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$96,976
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White45%
Hispanic11%
Black5%
Asian22%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international7%

Other Four-year institutions in NY

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Academy for Jewish ReligionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Adelphi UniversityNot reported67.2%$75,482
Albany College of Pharmacy and Health SciencesNot reported67.5%$131,426
Albany Law SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Albany Medical CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Albert Einstein College of MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alfred UniversityNot reported57.0%$54,897
American Musical and Dramatic AcademyNot reported71.6%$26,975
Associated Beth Rivkah SchoolsNot reported77.5%$17,686
Bais Binyomin AcademyNot reported8.3%Not reported
Bais Medrash ElyonNot reported0.0%Not reported
Bais Medrash of Dexter ParkNot reported71.4%Not reported

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer Science.$200,027$145,571Not reported
Computer Science.$141,528$107,009$23,250
Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians.$125,531$83,742$23,582
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$115,100$92,374$27,000
Applied Mathematics.$114,450$116,060Not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods.$112,190$124,807Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$107,173$115,974Not reported
Mathematics.$105,768$69,562$24,250
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$104,596$100,647$24,625
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$104,117$103,485Not reported
Biomedical/Medical Engineering.$103,306$93,451$26,000
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$99,713$68,257$26,000
Chemical Engineering.$98,679$98,158$25,332
Industrial Engineering.$98,509$98,442$22,750
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.$94,750$98,207$25,000
Mechanical Engineering.$92,952$92,135$25,000
Design and Applied Arts.$87,358$51,490$25,000
Nuclear Engineering.$87,239$99,297$19,500
Civil Engineering.$86,794$86,517$26,979
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.$83,958$55,693$27,000

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10