PublicFour-year

Fashion Institute of Technology

New York, NY · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$19,095
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$6,294
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
80.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$62,696
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$26,838
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$6,294
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$16,874
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$25,458
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$31,000
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,850
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00014,117
$30,001–48,00016,238
$48,001–75,00020,406
$75,001–110,00021,979
$110,001+26,070

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
80.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
90.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$50,102
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$62,696
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$12,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$127.22
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
69.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $62,696 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
60.2%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
7,637
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
27.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
32.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
29.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$46,417
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White37%
Hispanic24%
Black8%
Asian13%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international12%

Other Four-year institutions in NY

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Academy for Jewish ReligionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Adelphi UniversityNot reported67.2%$75,482
Albany College of Pharmacy and Health SciencesNot reported67.5%$131,426
Albany Law SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Albany Medical CollegeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Albert Einstein College of MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alfred UniversityNot reported57.0%$54,897
American Musical and Dramatic AcademyNot reported71.6%$26,975
Associated Beth Rivkah SchoolsNot reported77.5%$17,686
Bais Binyomin AcademyNot reported8.3%Not reported
Bais Medrash ElyonNot reported0.0%Not reported
Bais Medrash of Dexter ParkNot reported71.4%Not reported

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Apparel and Textiles.$71,139$57,640$21,165
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations.$70,727$59,631$21,500
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.$69,954$63,560$21,500
Marketing.$67,002$69,303$18,721
Design and Applied Arts.$60,882$51,490$25,000
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations.$60,504$53,002$12,000
Apparel and Textiles.$58,876$45,422$12,000
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.$54,879$53,309$12,000
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management.$53,710$48,240$24,734
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$51,622$48,733$12,000
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.$49,627$61,027$19,500
Design and Applied Arts.$45,096$38,127$12,000
Fine and Studio Arts.$39,930$41,367$24,683
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.$31,862$33,186Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts.$30,454$31,650$12,000
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations.Not reported$120,246Not reported
Graphic Communications.Not reported$43,283$19,875
Apparel and Textiles.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Museology/Museum Studies.Not reported$53,692Not reported
Visual and Performing Arts, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10