PublicFour-yearHispanic-serving

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Newark, NJ · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$16,504
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$19,974
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
72.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$84,276
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$32,859
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$19,974
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$37,664
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$16,450
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$17,936
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$3,400
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00010,138
$30,001–48,00011,165
$48,001–75,00015,958
$75,001–110,00023,152
$110,001+27,244

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
72.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
76.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
89.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$69,591
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$84,276
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$222.63
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
71.3%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $84,276 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
65.1%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,337
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
27–34
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
9,019
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
17:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
34.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
39.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
31.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$38,563
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White29%
Hispanic29%
Black10%
Asian20%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international6%

Other Four-year institutions in NJ

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bais Medrash Mayan HatorahNot reported57.9%Not reported
Bais Medrash Toras ChesedNot reported33.3%Not reported
Berkeley College-Woodland ParkNot reported43.7%$40,251
Bet Midrash Ohel TorahNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Beth Medrash GovohaNot reportedNot reported$47,544
Beth Medrash of Asbury ParkNot reported10.0%Not reported
Bloomfield College of Montclair State University$28,01438.1%$61,415
Caldwell UniversityNot reported57.5%$53,843
Centenary UniversityNot reported56.0%$53,726
Chamberlain University-New JerseyNot reported33.3%$92,405
DeVry University-New JerseyNot reported71.4%$45,987
Drew UniversityNot reported70.5%$63,646

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Information Science/Studies.$140,197$112,705Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$139,346$124,201Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$127,494$133,654Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$119,814$103,485Not reported
Engineering-Related Fields.$119,665$125,651Not reported
Chemical Engineering.$110,950$115,468Not reported
Civil Engineering.$107,682$98,323Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$105,200$115,974Not reported
Biomedical/Medical Engineering.$104,927$106,375Not reported
Information Science/Studies.$103,918$85,294$25,000
Industrial Engineering.$101,547$98,442$25,000
Computer Engineering.$99,880$109,015$22,375
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$97,926$92,374$21,500
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$97,718$100,647$25,325
Chemical Engineering.$97,371$98,158$26,437
Mathematics.$94,840$69,562$26,190
Mechanical Engineering.$89,827$92,135$23,334
Biomedical/Medical Engineering.$88,396$93,451$22,125
Civil Engineering.$87,389$86,517$24,085
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General.$86,360$80,526$24,000

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10