PublicTwo-year

Southwest Mississippi Community College

Summit, MS · Highest award: Associate's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$2,525
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$4,080
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$33,227
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$11,644
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$4,080
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$6,780
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$4,800
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$5,850
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$440
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0002,171
$30,001–48,0002,136
$48,001–75,0004,511
$75,001–110,0004,410

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
Not reported
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$29,092
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$33,227
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
Not reported
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
Not reported
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
Not reported
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
Not reported
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $33,227 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,474
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
21:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
42.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
56.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
0.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$16,430
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White46%
Hispanic2%
Black46%
Asian0%
Two or more races2%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Two-year institutions in MS

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Blue Cliff College-GulfportNot reportedNot reported$22,177
Coahoma Community College$-274Not reported$24,289
Concorde Career College-SouthavenNot reportedNot reported$31,599
Copiah-Lincoln Community College$3,894Not reported$31,241
Copiah-Lincoln Community College Simpson County CenterNot reportedNot reported$31,241
Copiah-Lincoln Community College-Natchez CampusNot reportedNot reported$31,241
East Central Community College$5,240Not reported$32,421
East Mississippi Community College$4,608Not reported$33,772
Hinds Community College$4,060Not reported$30,774
Holmes Community College$5,643Not reported$32,922
Itawamba Community College$4,616Not reported$32,912
Jones County Junior College$6,048Not reported$33,377

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$76,451$80,813$21,057
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$35,117$37,073Not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.$33,804$56,073Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$31,276$44,125Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.$29,575$34,184Not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.$18,376$26,307Not reported
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services.Not reported$67,499Not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Not reported$58,236Not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$51,586Not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$58,424Not reported
Precision Metal Working.Not reported$48,702Not reported
Precision Metal Working.Not reported$56,451Not reported
Ground Transportation.Not reported$52,118Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Accounting and Related Services.Not reported$47,660Not reported
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Not reported$37,587Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.Not reported$51,913Not reported
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Not reported$54,971Not reported
Marketing.Not reported$44,264Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10