Private nonprofitFour-yearHBCU

Xavier University of Louisiana

New Orleans, LA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$17,127
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$28,733
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
48.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,184
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$40,434
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$28,733
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$28,733
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,439
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$16,115
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,353
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00014,405
$30,001–48,00015,094
$48,001–75,00017,836
$75,001–110,00019,118
$110,001+24,096

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
48.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
49.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
71.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,643
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,184
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$24,053
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$255.00
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
52.5%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $52,184 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
69.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,080
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–24
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,628
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
11:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
26.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
54.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
56.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$33,112
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White1%
Hispanic4%
Black86%
Asian2%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international3%

Other Four-year institutions in LA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bridges Christian CollegeNot reported0.0%Not reported
Centenary College of LouisianaNot reported56.2%$50,330
Chamberlain University-LouisianaNot reportedNot reported$92,405
Dillard UniversityNot reported43.3%$39,196
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady UniversityNot reported45.5%$59,419
Grambling State University$19,80936.2%$41,109
Herzing University-New OrleansNot reported15.4%$36,909
Louisiana Christian UniversityNot reported43.9%$51,700
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New OrleansNot reportedNot reported$78,495
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-ShreveportNot reportedNot reported$74,671
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College$19,15168.8%$61,251
Louisiana State University at Alexandria$7,06534.2%$42,205

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration.$131,316$136,696Not reported
Public Health.$63,204$58,808$27,000
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$53,792$60,111Not reported
Chemistry.$48,508$65,120$27,000
Biology, General.$42,938$57,214$25,887
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$41,198$68,257$27,000
Education, General.Not reported$65,824Not reported
Curriculum and Instruction.Not reported$63,399Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$71,685Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.Not reported$100,573Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$64,397Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$59,916Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$63,707Not reported
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Not reported$65,466Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10