Southern University at New Orleans
New Orleans, LA · Highest award: Graduate degree
Read the years, not just the numbers
Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.
What it actually costs
Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.
Average net price by family income
Academic year 2023-24
| $0–30,000 | 14,771 | |
|---|---|---|
| $75,001–110,000 | 19,360 |
Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.
Outcomes
Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.
Compared with a high-school graduate
Students here earned a median of $34,042 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.
Admissions and size
Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.
Student body
Fall 2024
| White | 2% | |
|---|---|---|
| Hispanic | 3% | |
| Black | 90% | |
| Asian | 0% | |
| Two or more races | 3% | |
| Nonresident / international | 1% |
Other Four-year institutions in LA
| Institution | Net price | Grad rate | Earnings (10 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bridges Christian College | Not reported | 0.0% | Not reported |
| Centenary College of Louisiana | Not reported | 56.2% | $50,330 |
| Chamberlain University-Louisiana | Not reported | Not reported | $92,405 |
| Dillard University | Not reported | 43.3% | $39,196 |
| Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University | Not reported | 45.5% | $59,419 |
| Grambling State University | $19,809 | 36.2% | $41,109 |
| Herzing University-New Orleans | Not reported | 15.4% | $36,909 |
| Louisiana Christian University | Not reported | 43.9% | $51,700 |
| Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans | Not reported | Not reported | $78,495 |
| Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport | Not reported | Not reported | $74,671 |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College | $19,151 | 68.8% | $61,251 |
| Louisiana State University at Alexandria | $7,065 | 34.2% | $42,205 |
Earnings by field of study
Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.
| Programme | Median earnings (4 yr) | National median | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social Work. | $55,119 | $65,123 | Not reported |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections. | $53,762 | $66,714 | Not reported |
| Social Work. | $49,709 | $51,790 | $42,000 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services. | $47,390 | $48,568 | $56,000 |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services. | $44,788 | $58,716 | Not reported |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections. | $44,723 | $55,378 | $45,149 |
| Biology, General. | $44,350 | $57,214 | Not reported |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities. | $44,226 | $53,072 | $55,541 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations. | $42,068 | $68,257 | $38,319 |
| Psychology, General. | $39,139 | $50,706 | $47,500 |
| Mathematics. | Not reported | $69,562 | Not reported |
| Mathematics. | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General. | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Museology/Museum Studies. | Not reported | $53,692 | Not reported |
| Security Science and Technology. | Not reported | $57,805 | Not reported |
| Security Science and Technology. | Not reported | $106,875 | Not reported |
| Public Administration. | Not reported | $65,093 | Not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services. | Not reported | $105,177 | Not reported |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions. | Not reported | $40,734 | Not reported |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions. | Not reported | $52,119 | Not reported |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10