PublicFour-year

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Natchitoches, LA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$13,606
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$8,864
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
43.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,021
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$25,431
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$8,864
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$19,652
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,926
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,802
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,353
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00011,693
$30,001–48,00012,261
$48,001–75,00012,549
$75,001–110,00017,777
$110,001+19,077

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
43.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
49.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
70.9%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,485
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,021
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$25,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$265.04
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
62.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $47,021 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
92.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,088
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–24
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
5,519
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
42.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
35.2%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
35.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$30,223
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White53%
Hispanic6%
Black29%
Asian1%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in LA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bridges Christian CollegeNot reported0.0%Not reported
Centenary College of LouisianaNot reported56.2%$50,330
Chamberlain University-LouisianaNot reportedNot reported$92,405
Dillard UniversityNot reported43.3%$39,196
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady UniversityNot reported45.5%$59,419
Grambling State University$19,80936.2%$41,109
Herzing University-New OrleansNot reported15.4%$36,909
Louisiana Christian UniversityNot reported43.9%$51,700
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New OrleansNot reportedNot reported$78,495
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-ShreveportNot reportedNot reported$74,671
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College$19,15168.8%$61,251
Louisiana State University at Alexandria$7,06534.2%$42,205

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$111,536$120,193Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$86,608$88,910$25,638
Homeland Security.$81,715$96,660Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$76,710$80,813$31,250
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.$74,209$80,890$25,625
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General.$67,765$61,296$42,605
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$66,559$70,786$26,797
Information Science/Studies.$63,928$85,294$29,000
Educational Administration and Supervision.$62,268$71,685Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$60,861$76,194$29,371
Special Education and Teaching.$58,603$64,397Not reported
Biology, General.$55,452$57,214$26,821
History.$55,115$50,680Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$53,800$47,382$23,662
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$53,469$62,033Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$52,689$59,916Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$51,927$68,257$28,750
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$51,722$54,562$24,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.$51,672$51,389$27,962
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$50,650$60,111Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10