PublicTwo-yearHispanic-serving

Marshalltown Community College

Marshalltown, IA · Highest award: Associate's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$8,059
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$5,496
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,010
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$14,425
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$5,496
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$6,504
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,660
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$12,300
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,500
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0006,393
$30,001–48,0006,482
$48,001–75,0007,797
$75,001–110,00010,546
$110,001+11,686

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
Not reported
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,574
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,010
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$9,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$100.72
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
40.3%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $41,010 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
788
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
20:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
45.0%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
22.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
10.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$34,741
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White46%
Hispanic32%
Black5%
Asian4%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international8%

Other Two-year institutions in IA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Des Moines Area Community College$11,171Not reported$41,018
Eastern Iowa Community College District$14,017Not reported$39,060
Ellsworth Community College$11,451Not reported$40,562
Hawkeye Community College$9,649Not reported$42,849
Indian Hills Community College$10,693Not reported$40,507
Iowa Central Community College$9,328Not reported$42,046
Iowa Lakes Community College$13,933Not reported$43,108
Iowa School of Beauty-Des MoinesNot reportedNot reported$25,803
Iowa School of Beauty-Sioux CityNot reportedNot reported$26,654
Iowa Western Community College$14,629Not reported$42,793
Kirkwood Community College$9,705Not reported$41,016
La James College of Hairstyling and CosmetologyNot reportedNot reported$27,484

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.$62,131$56,073Not reported
Precision Metal Working.$59,331$48,702Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$45,363$44,125$9,960
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$35,660Not reported
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Not reported$54,971Not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Not reported$39,605Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants/Aides.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Not reported$34,184Not reported
Legal Support Services.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Legal Support Services.Not reported$44,669Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biology, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10