Private nonprofitFour-year

Saint Mary's College

Notre Dame, IN · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$25,292
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$53,230
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
69.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,354
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$66,478
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$53,230
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$53,230
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$14,260
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,850
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$300
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00016,760
$30,001–48,00018,152
$48,001–75,00021,014
$75,001–110,00023,680
$110,001+30,443

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
69.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
75.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
88.1%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$53,470
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,354
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$27,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$286.24
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
84.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $59,354 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
76.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,246
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
26–30
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,458
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
19.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
23.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
56.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$87,888
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White74%
Hispanic16%
Black2%
Asian2%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in IN

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American College of EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical SeminaryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Anderson UniversityNot reported53.8%$48,899
Ball State University$14,94062.3%$51,833
Bethany Theological SeminaryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Bethel UniversityNot reported53.2%$48,860
Butler UniversityNot reported80.4%$77,235
Calumet College of Saint JosephNot reported22.9%$46,945
Chamberlain University-IndianaNot reported0.0%$92,405
Christian Theological SeminaryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Concordia Theological SeminaryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
DePauw UniversityNot reported74.7%$70,527

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Accounting and Related Services.$98,107$76,194$27,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$80,396$88,910$27,000
Political Science and Government.$74,623$63,293Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$73,449$68,257$27,000
Biology, General.$68,409$57,214$27,000
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$66,587$58,928$26,500
Communication and Media Studies.$66,335$56,359$27,000
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$60,514$67,030Not reported
Psychology, General.$58,218$50,706$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$51,665$47,382$27,000
Social Work.$49,555$51,790Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Applied Mathematics.Not reported$91,532Not reported
Mathematics and Statistics, Other.Not reported$88,839Not reported
International/Globalization Studies.Not reported$59,972Not reported
Data Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Data Science.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy.Not reported$54,455Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10