PublicTwo-yearHBCU

J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College

Huntsville, AL · Highest award: Associate's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$6,005
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$5,190
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$28,281
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$14,456
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$5,190
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$9,060
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,450
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$2,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0005,916
$30,001–48,0004,108
$48,001–75,0008,546
$75,001–110,0007,763

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
Not reported
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$27,211
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$28,281
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
Not reported
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
Not reported
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
Not reported
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
Not reported
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $28,281 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
755
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
59.0%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
44.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
0.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$13,959
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White22%
Hispanic8%
Black60%
Asian1%
Two or more races7%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Two-year institutions in AL

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bevill State Community College$5,937Not reported$34,107
Bishop State Community College$5,397Not reported$29,916
Cardiac and Vascular Institute of UltrasoundNot reportedNot reported$52,669
Central Alabama Community College$15,996Not reported$33,506
Chattahoochee Valley Community College$4,244Not reported$36,438
Coastal Alabama Community College$13,644Not reported$34,894
Enterprise State Community College$12,609Not reported$42,572
Fortis Institute-BirminghamNot reportedNot reported$32,886
Gadsden State Community College$3,515Not reported$32,937
George C Wallace Community College-Dothan$1,170Not reported$31,399
George C Wallace State Community College-Hanceville$13,170Not reported$39,842
George C Wallace State Community College-Selma$9,272Not reported$31,598

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.$71,211$56,073Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Not reported$54,246Not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Not reported$26,307Not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Not reported$27,014Not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Not reported$30,572Not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Not reported$39,605Not reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$67,792Not reported
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$55,148Not reported
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$73,593Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$55,895Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$44,125Not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision Metal Working.Not reported$48,702Not reported
Precision Metal Working.Not reported$56,451Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10