PublicFour-yearHispanic-serving

South Texas College

McAllen, TX · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$1,751
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$4,920
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
27.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$36,788
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$9,561
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$4,920
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$7,620
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$8,638
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,600
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0001,395
$30,001–48,0001,651
$48,001–75,0003,841
$75,001–110,0005,274

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
27.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
15.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
58.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$28,239
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$36,788
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
Not reported
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
Not reported
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
Not reported
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
Not reported
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $36,788 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
15,856
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
22:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
60.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
38.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
0.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$17,577
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White2%
Hispanic95%
Black1%
Asian1%
Two or more races0%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in TX

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Abilene Christian UniversityNot reported59.0%$55,736
Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate OnlineNot reportedNot reported$55,736
Acupuncture and Integrative Medicine College Berkeley - AustinNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alvin Community College$8,52524.0%$45,762
Amberton UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
American College of Acupuncture and Oriental MedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
American InterContinental University-HoustonNot reported4.5%$36,144
Angelo State University$15,09144.0%$50,116
Arizona College of Nursing-DallasNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arlington Baptist UniversityNot reported19.4%$44,644
Austin CollegeNot reported67.0%$61,296
Austin Community College District$6,39020.2%$43,177

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$88,029$80,813$10,000
Engineering, General.$63,940$72,916Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$63,833$65,389$5,062
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$56,285$57,702Not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.$55,675$56,073$6,507
Precision Metal Working.$54,464$56,451Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$54,273$57,584$10,033
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.$53,246$58,424Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$46,438$92,374$6,967
Precision Metal Working.$45,926$48,702Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$45,612$68,257$5,449
Fire Protection.$43,838$62,436Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$43,650$54,246Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$42,423$58,716$5,500
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.$41,670$51,586Not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).$41,624$48,148Not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).$41,483$58,236Not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.$39,957$53,078Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$39,235$46,706$6,500
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.$39,050$42,269$10,378

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10