Private nonprofitFour-year

Whitman College

Walla Walla, WA · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$33,313
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$64,050
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
80.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,589
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$78,092
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$64,050
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$64,050
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$15,080
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$15,080
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,400
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00013,567
$30,001–48,00011,596
$48,001–75,00021,915
$75,001–110,00027,237
$110,001+47,679

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
80.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
90.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
86.7%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,594
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,589
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$18,437
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$195.46
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
93.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $67,589 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
38.1%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,410
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
29–33
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,531
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
10:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
11.7%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
16.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
53.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$98,863
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White56%
Hispanic13%
Black3%
Asian5%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international14%

Other Four-year institutions in WA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Antioch University-SeattleNot reportedNot reported$51,541
Bastyr UniversityNot reportedNot reported$49,364
Bates Technical College$6,29243.4%$50,051
Bellevue College$11,43035.8%$56,310
Bellingham Technical College$5,99741.7%$49,748
Big Bend Community College$12,21041.5%$43,814
Cascadia College$12,28132.1%$54,133
Central Washington University$18,47653.6%$61,580
Centralia College$9,86241.7%$43,140
City University of SeattleNot reportedNot reported$69,460
Clark College$11,46539.0%$42,356
Clover Park Technical College$9,86442.8%$41,787

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Economics.$88,393$82,686$17,500
Political Science and Government.$51,740$63,293$16,750
Psychology, General.$38,158$50,706$15,221
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,459Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$49,429Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214$18,080
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Not reported$65,466Not reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology.Not reported$48,842Not reported
Neurobiology and Neurosciences.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Applied Mathematics.Not reported$91,532Not reported
Statistics.Not reported$92,425Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10