PublicFour-year

Washington State University

Pullman, WA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$14,971
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$13,391
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
60.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$68,905
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$27,648
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$13,391
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$29,950
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,622
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,622
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$762
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0007,074
$30,001–48,0008,971
$48,001–75,00011,519
$75,001–110,00018,426
$110,001+24,726

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
60.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
63.7%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
78.3%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$53,510
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$68,905
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$19,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$206.73
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
72.1%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $68,905 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
86.6%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
21,099
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
15:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
34.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
27.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
30.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$44,850
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White57%
Hispanic19%
Black3%
Asian7%
Two or more races8%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in WA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Antioch University-SeattleNot reportedNot reported$51,541
Bastyr UniversityNot reportedNot reported$49,364
Bates Technical College$6,29243.4%$50,051
Bellevue College$11,43035.8%$56,310
Bellingham Technical College$5,99741.7%$49,748
Big Bend Community College$12,21041.5%$43,814
Cascadia College$12,28132.1%$54,133
Central Washington University$18,47653.6%$61,580
Centralia College$9,86241.7%$43,140
City University of SeattleNot reportedNot reported$69,460
Clark College$11,46539.0%$42,356
Clover Park Technical College$9,86442.8%$41,787

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Engineering-Related Fields.$155,639$125,651Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$144,028$103,485Not reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration.$143,072$138,348Not reported
Veterinary Medicine.$133,556$131,316Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$126,766$138,131Not reported
Computer Science.$119,686$107,009$22,453
Computer Engineering.$114,635$109,015$21,750
Construction Management.$107,531$95,124Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$104,354$100,647$21,030
Educational Administration and Supervision.$100,873$71,685Not reported
Agriculture, General.$100,333$61,941Not reported
Chemical Engineering.$99,506$98,158$22,500
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$94,456$89,981Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$93,971$92,135$21,000
Civil Engineering.$91,879$86,517$22,450
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$91,495$88,910$21,500
Communication and Media Studies.$86,450$71,953Not reported
Materials Engineering.$86,145$91,449$29,760
Finance and Financial Management Services.$86,012$83,343$19,762
Management Information Systems and Services.$85,967$83,290$23,500

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10